9. Fangoria’s Weekend of Horrors (1986)

I watched an awesome documentary on the first Fangoria “Weekend of Horrors” horror convention. If you have any serious interest in horror movies, and want to see interviews with people like Tobe Hooper and Dan O’Bannon in their primes, this is a must-see. While watching it, I had several very important epiphanies:

Boner and Pavel Chekov!

Boner and Pavel Chekov!

1. “Boner” from Growing Pains is CHEKOV’S SON. He was just saying something cheesy to the camera, and then he’s like, “I brought my dad here because he likes this stuff,” and then he turns around and it’s Walter Koenig?! That is basically the twist ending to this documentary, even though it happens in the middle.

2. Robert Englund (Freddy Krueger) was actually pretty hot in a nerdy 80s kind of way. Tobe Hooper was not bad-looking either. Rick Baker was okay too.

(Robert Englund obviously)

(Robert Englund obviously)

3. I will never find love and am destined to die alone, because 99% of people with interests similar to mine are totally friggin weird. I mean, I am a little odd, but manage quite well in the real world, and you probably wouldn’t guess that I had this intense love of horror movies if I didn’t tell you. It’s not something I wear on my sleeve. Seriously, though, it appears my options are majorly limited.

Just look at these marriageable young bachelors:

If you could hear him, he would be telling you about how he really, really likes puppets, and although he only won 3rd place in the short film competition this year with his boring and weird puppet video, NEXT year he is going to come back and win 1st, 2nd, AND 3rd place.

If you could hear him, he would be telling you about how he really, really likes puppets, and although he only won 3rd place in the short film competition this year with his boring and weird puppet video, NEXT year he is going to come back and win 1st, 2nd, AND 3rd place.

"Some films just have tasteless blood and guts...those films where you see girls getting hacked up in bed, those are okay." - said with a creepy laugh

"Some films just have tasteless blood and guts...those films where you see girls getting hacked up in bed, those are okay." - said with a creepy laugh

"I AM blood and guts, you know? It's my whole life."

"I AM blood and guts, you know? It's my whole life."

I know this documentary was filmed 24 years ago, but I have a feeling not much has changed in that regard.

~ by Anne Harding on October 6, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
