Preparations are underway

Watching 100 movies in a month is a stupid idea.

However, I am young, stupid, and currently free from obligations to schoolwork until January. I work a stress-free job with incredibly reasonable hours, and most of my friends are back at school right now, or have graduated and have Real Jobs. Therefore, I feel it would be a shame – nay, a crime! – to pass up this rare opportunity to spectacularly overindulge in movie-watching.

I heard about the October Horror Movie Challenge from a friend, and traced it to the dvdtalk.com forums. I’m not a member there though, and I think it would be a little bizarre to suddenly join for this purpose alone. They have their own set of rules, but I don’t feel obliged to abide by them, although I won’t be changing them much. My rules are as follows:

  1. 100 horror movies is the goal. 62 (2 a day) is seen as bare minimum, and 78 (~2.5 per day) will be seen as commendable, but incredibly disappointing nonetheless.
  2. Short films don’t count, unless I watch them in a group with a running time of over an hour. Then the shorts together would count as one film
  3. TV shows with Halloween or horror content DO count, but I am going to try to keep them to a minimum. This rule basically exists so that if I get burned out I can watch the X-Files for a little while. In addition, if the show is under an hour long, 2 episodes are necessary for it to count as 1 film. EXCEPTION: I get to watch It’s the Great Pumpkin, Charlie Brown and count it.
  4. Any format is acceptable. (dvd, theater, vhs, etc.)
  5. If I say it is genre-appropriate, it is. I am counting horror comedies, wacky 80s movies where teenagers become monsters of some kind, movies for children that are horror related, sci-fi that I feel is horrorific, etc. No arguing.
~ by Anne Harding on September 30, 2009.

4 Responses to “Preparations are underway”

  1. ^__^ awesome. Good luck!

  2. Does Mean Girls count? That’s an excellent movie.

Leave a Reply

 
